The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (Intro to We Eat Things’ New Guest Blogger)

Standard

After a quick internet search on the topic of ‘Eat, Fast and Live Longer’, the Horizon documentary by Michael Mosley,  it would appear that many people have been inspired to take on a new form of eating; the 5/2 Diet. I too, am one of those people.

As a 19 year old female who has struggled with her weight all her life, this documentary offered a new, innovative, and challenging way to conquer the pounds. Straight away I decided the challenge was perfect for me. 5 ‘feed’ days and 2 ‘fast’ days. The result, well, according to Michael Mosley, after 5 weeks, I should have lost a stone in weight, and my body should be much healthier as a result!

So, what’s the plan? Well, I am currently 12st 4lbs, and at only 5ft 7inches, that is overweight! In 8 weeks I will turn 20, and by then (if all goes to plan) I will be at least a stone lighter. In theory, I have already started the diet; however, as I have chosen Sundays and Mondays as my fast days, I have not yet experienced the hardest part of the diet. Furthermore, I plan to combine the 5/2 diet with a variety of exercises. I plan to go running about 3-4 times a week, as well as attending the gym, combat aerobics and bodysculpt classes.

However, for me, this diet does not just offer a new option for weight loss; it also seems to provide the route to a healthier and more energised life. The idea of giving my body two days to ‘recover’ and slow down really interests me, and although I don’t understand the concept exactly, I am excited to find out exactly how it works on my own body.

Despite this, there are a few issues that I am quite anxious about. For example, although the idea of fasting is intriguing, the last time I ate under 500 calories in one day I was violently ill. Also, I have a history of dizziness and fainting, which, tends to come back to the forefront when I have had little to eat. And lastly, I read in several articles online that fasting can often pose a risk to women’s menstrual cycle. All these things do concern me, but I am willing to take the risk in order to lose weight and become a healthier person.

I currently follow a Pescatarian diet and I have managed to do so for several months now. However, I have always believed myself to have very little will power, and therefore, the 5/2 diet is going to pose a serious challenge to my normal self. I’m hoping my idea of planning ahead will make achieving under 500 calories during the fast days doable, however, I know it will be hard. Let’s hope it goes well!

Ashleigh – Guest Blogger

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (First Fast Days) « We Eat Things

  2. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (End of Week One) « We Eat Things

  3. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (Week Two) « We Eat Things

  4. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Mickey’s Journey (Week Three Part II) « We Eat Things

  5. I think the idea is that you should separate your two fasting days, rather than having them on consecutive days one after another.

    From the article on the Telegraph website:
    “It doesn’t matter which days are spent “feeding” and which “fasting”, as long as the fasting days are non-consecutive and you stick to the 5:2 ratio.”

    From what I can tell, this gives better health benefits (as well as being easier!). I’ve started doing one day a week for the last 4 weeks, and found it surprisingly easy. This week I’m going to increase to two (Monday & Thursday).

    Anyway, good luck with your weight loss target!

  6. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (Week 3) « We Eat Things

  7. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey – Back Again! « We Eat Things

Add Your Thoughts...

