The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (First Fast Days)

Standard
More strawberries from http://www.ars.usda.gov...

Β (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I am at the half way point of my first week of the 5/2 diet, and I have finally completed my first two fast days, which were definitely not easy.

I officially decided to start the diet last Thursday, and between then and Sunday I should have been eating ‘normally’. However, I was anxious about my two fast days, and as I result I am sure that I ate much more than normal. I mean, gorging on teaspoons of Nutella is definitely not normal – but it is delicious. Anyway, it is safe to say that I did not get off to a good start. Despite this, I have come through strong as my first two fast days were a success!

After a late night on Saturday for a friends leaving party, Sunday’s fast was a challenge. A hungover Ashleigh loves chips and chocolate, but chips and chocolate I could not have! Instead, I awoke late in the day and made myself a rather delicious but simple fruit salad. At only 169 calories, it consisted of grapes, raspberries, 0% fat Greek yoghurt, a drizzle of honey and a sprinkle of dried pineapple. I scoffed the bowl within seconds. I must admit, afterwards I was still tempted to grab a bar of chocolate, but I resisted, and I was proud of myself for doing so.

However, come 6pm, my family are happily gorging on their fish and chips from the local chipper. I know they know I am jealous – the old Ashleigh would have managed to consume dozens of those chips. But I did well, as they devoured their greasy 700 calorie meal, I sat across from them with my 260 calorie poached egg on toast. Yes, it’s simple, and yes it is maybe boring, but eating it felt good, it felt deserved.

On Sunday night I had to endure a 3 hour bus journey without any chocolate or crisps to snack on. However, I did have some dried fruit and ‘very berry’ tea to keep me company. By this stage I was feeling positive, I had managed one full day on less than 500 calories, and I felt I had managed it quite easily. However, on arrival at my destination, my lovely friend decided a coffee and cake was in need. After a long explanation, I managed to get myself out of it, I ordered a fruit tea, and watched her eat. That was by far the hardest part of the day. I wanted to let myself go and enjoy myself, but all i could think about was resisting the food. But I did it; I made it to the end of the day in under 500 calories.

Then came Monday – my second fast day of the week. I awoke feeling positive, I knew I could do it, another day of under 500 calories, it would be easy. But, as you can imagine, it really wasn’t. I had a busy day ahead of me, and very little time to plan what I was going to eat. I decided I would just do the same as the day before, that way it was sure to work. And it got off to a good start. I enjoyed my fruit salad breakfast, and it really did set me up for the day. I began feeling hungry again at around 2pm, so I nibbled on a few pieces of dried pineapple; problem solved!

However, by 5pm, I was feeling tired and lethargic. I wasn’t sure if it was all the travelling from the day before, or my lack of sleep in the unusual bed. But I definitely didn’t feel myself. And it became even worse when I was asked to cook tea for a friend. Of course I was happy to do so, but it was the first time I had cooked for others whilst ‘fasting’.

I don’t mean to blow my own trumpet, but it looked and smelt absolutely delicious. He of course, confirmed that for me, and whilst he enjoyed my lovely cooking, I ate my poached egg on toast. Another 500 calories down, I knew I couldn’t eat anything else again that day. But as I sit writing this, I am in a wonderful Glasgow coffee shop, with homemade scones, croissants, fruit loafs and chocolate cakes, all of which are extremely tempting. But they remain untouched, well, by me at least. I have had another mug of fruit tea – its 2 calories will keep me going until bedtime. This day was a challenge, but I know I can wake tomorrow and enjoy a day of ‘feeding’, and I couldn’t be happier.

Although my two fast days have been tough, I already feel ten times better for it. Despite feeling slightly tired on Monday, I have had no negative side effects. So far, only many positives to be taken – the main one being that I can do it! Just 5 days of normal eating to go before my next set of ‘fast days’ – and I am surprised to admit that I am looking forward to them.

Ashleigh – Guest Blogger

20 responses »

  1. Well done. Does one have to take the two fast days consecutively?. Iwas planning to make Tuesday and Fridays my fasting days.

  2. I have read that the two days should not be consecutive and must admit that I find it much easier and flexible that way. Good luck to all!

    • Yeah, i must admit, i was thinking of trying two separate fasting days next week, as the two consecutive days were such a challenge. I was also going to try having only one large meal a day rather than one small meal, just to see what works best for me. I guess it is all just about finding out what you feel most comfortable with. It will always be a challenge, no matter what.

  3. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Meal and Snack Ideas « We Eat Things

  4. I am inspired by your thoughts and ideas…I am going to start this way of life after this Bank Holiday.I am spending the next few days compiling my next weeks menu….Will let you know how I get on..

    • Kim l am finding that if l eat pretty much the same things each fast day, it seems easier. In the morning l have a boiled egg, 80 cals, 200ml semi-skimmed goats milk in coffee, another 80, and half an ounce of porridge oats, 50, cooked in water, 10 raspberries, 10, and also 4 almonds, 7 cals each…that’s roughly 250. If it goes over by a few I’m not too worried. Very hungry at tea time, 2 sticks of celery. For dinner-a tin of ready cooked borlotti beans, 200cals, a tiny bit of olive oil, and lots of salad leaves, cucumber, tomato and lemon. That’s it…it’s just about enough, and v healthy! Good luck.

      • Cheers Rosy….I will take that on board….although that seems too much to me to sort out before work,,,,,,but tea time seems scrummy,,,,
        Thanks…let me know any other tips you have,,,,,,

      • Hi Kim,
        Well figure out a good breakfast, with 80 cals for an egg you could boil two and maybe eat later? my point is that I think its much easier if you figure it out and just have the same thing each time….otherwise you spend lots of mental energy calculating and that just makes you obsess about food more. then its also easier to do shopping and for me, sticking to the same thing feels like less hassle…i can have a change on normal eating days.
        Cheers
        RA

  5. My wife and I have just started this, I found it a little harder. I think it’s worse on a day off or weekend as you just have the whole day to ruminate about food. I’m keen to lose 12lb for a half marathon race in October, it will be interesting to see if I can still run on my non fast days.
    I’m getting my glucose and LDL checked after week 4. It would be great to here if weight stays off! Not much info out there yet but I sense it’s getting popular.

  6. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Mickey’s Journey (Week Two, Part II) « We Eat Things

  7. Hi Ashleigh,
    I am also trying the 5/2 plan and feeling good after my first week. I just wanted to say…all the literature l have read states that fast days not be consecutive, and maybe I’m reading it wrong, but it sounded like you did your 2days in a row, which would be making things much harder on yourself…..I know if l did that, I’d definitely crack on the 2nd day! Just a thought.
    Also…..just wanted to share an eating idea….I often make dhal with red lentils, and it is delish with no fat if you add a teaspoon of turmeric and a few fat chunks of ginger. Then you can stir in a spoon of yoghourt to eat with it, and have some chopped red onions, tomatoes and celery which have practically no calories as well. That’s my dinner tonight-can’t wait!
    All the best
    Rosy x

  8. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (End of Week One) « We Eat Things

  9. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (Week Two) « We Eat Things

  10. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (Week 3) « We Eat Things

Add Your Thoughts...

