The 5:2 Diet: Mickey’s Journey (Week Three Part II)

Standard
Individual egg custard tart from Nash's Bakery...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Saturday  25th August
Didn’t go to the gym this morning, but did do loads of house work which kept my mind off food.  Did not eat till late afternoon and considered having a fast day today. But gave in during the evening and ended up eating Morrison’s Southern fried chicken steaks and Morrison’s special fried chicken rice.  Very high on calories, but tasty and quick. 

Sunday 26th August
I had a rowing club taster session today.  It was fun. I am going to sign up for the rowing course in September.  It must be good exercise.  Family barbecue tonight at my house, so lots of food to prepare and lots of temptations!  I have made some Sangria with sugar free orangeade.

The BBQ went well despite the cold weather and the food was yummy.  Very difficult not to over indulge, so I did not have burgers, but did eat the belly pork rashers, (fat and all). What with millionaires cheesecake and trifle to follow I well exceeded my daily points allowance and used up 20 of my weekly points.  Oh well fast day tomorrow!

Monday 27th August
At home today so fasting will be difficult.  Started with coffee and yogurt.  I am going to eat very sparingly till evening.  I am drinking oxo to curb hunger pangs and have prepared a vegetable chilli for dinner tonight that will have less than 100 calories per portion.    It is no so difficult to ignore the need for food, until I go near the fridge.  Then I just want to stick my head in the fridge and just eat indiscriminately whether it is cooked or not.  Oh well I will sit on the bed and watch Sense and Sensibility.  Managed to keep to just over 520 calories today, so not too bad at all.

Tuesday 28th August
At Home again today and this time it really was a problem.  We visited a friend who had laid on cakes and did not understand the idea of fasting at all!  I went for an egg custard tart that seemed the least offensive at 244 calories and filled up with lots of coffee.  Lunch was an oxo cube again and vegetable chilli for dinner.  Unfortunately I broke all the rules that night and shared a pack of minstrels with my husband (and not a small pack either).  Having said that at weigh in I did lose 2 ½ lbs, so despite the blips it is still working.  I am now down to 13 stone 7lb and for the first time in 20 years I weigh less than my husband.  I have also now lost continuously for the last 4 weeks and have lost 1lb short of half a stone.  It has given me a real boost.  I am firmly committed to the 2 day fasting. 

I think from my point of view I really would recommend this as an ideal way to lose weight and to try to control what you eat.  I find that I don’t over eat on my feeding days, it probably helps that I am following Weight Watchers, so I am still writing down what I eat and I keep within my points allowance for the 5 feeding days. 

The irritation or pain of fasting for two days is a small price to pay to be able to have more freedom on the other 5 days and to be losing weight again.  If you plan properly and have support from your loved ones then it really is not a major problem.  The only obstacle is your self discipline (something that I know I need to improve on during fast days).  The only caveat I would again state is that you must always check any diet change with a qualified medical practitioner, so that you can be sure that you are not doing any damage to your health.

Mickey – Guest Blogger

10 responses »

  1. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Mickey’s Journey (Week 4 Part I) « We Eat Things

  2. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Mickey’s Journey (Week Four, Part II) « We Eat Things

  3. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Asheligh’s Journey Week Four « We Eat Things

  4. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Mickey’s Journey – The Final Post « We Eat Things

  5. I did the drops from prohcgdiet.com and lost 16 poudns on the diet in 24 days. Its now been 3 months since I did this diet and and I have not gained a pound since I went off of it. I have tried so many diets and this is a diet that I can really say was fun. Its so great to wake up every morning and see how much weight you have lost. My and my mom and sister all took the drops from Pro Hcg Diet which had good instructions and a great menu book too. Some girls from the office did the injections and lost about the same as I did so unless your into pain, get drops!Good Luck!

  6. NO, there really are no good diet pills for anonye. Diet pills are just a crutch and never really work. If you want to lose weight you have to learn to do it with will power. You can do it and so can your child of 13. It definetly is not wise to start a young child on diet pills, they will be hooked for life.

  7. Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send this article to him. Fairly certain he’s going
    to have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

Add Your Thoughts...

