The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey (Week 3)

Standard

It has been a while since i updated you on my progress with the 5:2 diet, but it’s been a busy week. Finding a new job, handing in my resignation and everything that goes along with it, but now that it is all done, I can finally concentrate on the diet again.

So, throughout the rest of last week I continued to record my food diary and I have noticed a recurring pattern of calorie consumption between my first and second week on the diet. After my two fast days, I consume about 1500 calories on the following two days, however, by the last two days of the week, I sometimes consume up to 2500 calories a day. It seems that immediately after the fast, my body is incapable of consuming much, and I can tell you for a fact that I feel great during those days. However, by the end of the week, I struggle to keep it all together, by then, my body is getting used to eating ‘normally’ and I revert back to old habits.

However, despite this lack of self control, I had another weigh-in on Friday, and I am pleased to announce that I have lost another 2lbs, taking my total weight down to 11st 13lbs. It feels good to be out of the 12‘s. However, I feel that my fluctuating calorie consumption is inefficient, and therefore this week I have decided to do things differently. Several people have told me that it is actually recommended that your fast days do not occur consecutively. Furthermore, as I tend to consume less on the days immediately after my fast days, I feel that spreading the fast out will also spread out the days of lower consumption. Hopefully, I will no longer have any days where I consume more than 2,000 calories.

Therefore, for this, my third week on the 5:2 diet, my fast days will be on a Sunday and a Wednesday. Hopefully, this will help to balance out my calorie consumption, and lower it throughout the week.

However, as for last week, well, I made a promise to myself – and that was to make my fast days as exciting as possible. So far, I’m not sure if I have managed that. My first fast of this week was yesterday, and once again I started the day with my classic fruit salad = 140 calories. Although I may sound unimpressed by this, I do really enjoy it. If you haven’t tried Totals 0% fat yoghurt, then you really should, a dollop of that on top of any fruit salad, plus a drizzle of honey just makes it heavenly.

Anyway, as for the rest of the day, well I allowed myself a sneaky home baked cookie at midday. I admit now, that baking banana and chocolate cookies during one of my fast days was a horrendous idea, however, I only had one, and a small one at that. I calculated that the cookie would have about 180 calories, and so for my tea, I had a teeny tiny bowl of spiced carrot and lentil soup, which at only 130 calories, left me room for a small apple later in the day. So fair enough, it wasn’t a bad day, but it is the first time I have found myself struggling to keep below the 500 calorie mark. I mean, I wanted to eat so many more of those cookies, but I did manage to control myself.

Today, I have done not badly so far, and by the end of the day I predict I will make it to about 1,700 calories, which I feel is a good count for a ‘feed’ day. If I can keep all my feed days at that level, then manage all my fast days, then I think I will manage to continue this for a long time to come. I am hopeful that this weeks new way of doing this will work out well, however, I do worry that by spreading out my fast days I am not giving body enough of a rest. I will try this for a week, and if my body doesn’t respond as well to the diet as it has been then I will try my old tactic again.

Ashleigh – Guest Blogger

6 responses »

  1. Ah I found that too…I can eat well and sensibly for the two days after a fast day, but on the third day the habits appear again. It was my plan to stick to Tuesdays and Thursdays, but the 4 day period in between may not be in my best interest. Having just done 3 days normal it seems my last fast day is just a distant memory and makes fasting today seem hard work.

    • Thanks For the comment, it is nice to see that i am not the only one who struggles to control myself a few days after the fast. I think it has a lot to do with how your opinion of food changes during the fast day. I mean i just had a fast yesterday, so today i am motivated and driven to do well on my diet, and i know i wont eat very much today, but come tomorrow, that may have changed. Good luck on your journey. 🙂

  2. When people are so closely calorie counting – what do they use to find the calorific content? Are they carrying a bible sized reference manual or using internet? If so – which site is best/easiest/quickest ?  

    ________________________________

    • Hey, thanks for the comment.

      I find this website quite useful http://nutritiondata.self.com – However, a lot of it is Americanised and, it is still sometimes difficult top find what you are looking for – however, a quick internet search will usually point you in the right direction of the correct food.

      Haha, well although it may sound sad, i do carry a little note book at all times and i usually quickly jot down what i have eaten, and then, once home, i can calculate the calories. And on the fast days, i usually plan ahead what i will be eating, so those days, you just have to stick to the plan and you will manage to achieve the correct calorie count.

  3. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Asheligh’s Journey Week Four « We Eat Things

  4. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Ashleigh’s Journey – Back Again! « We Eat Things

Add Your Thoughts...

