The 5:2 Diet: Juliet’s Journey – Almost Six Weeks!

Standard
A dozen boiled eggs with lion marks visible in...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hubby and I have been on the 5:2 diet now for nearly 6 weeks. We are getting used to the routine of fasting. Sticking to Tuesdays and Thursdays as fast days means I can plan my meals well in advance and I seem able to cope with fasting physically and psychologically quite well now. In fact Tuesday this week was my best fast day yet.

Little and often works for me on fast days so after a small bowl of porridge I had a banana at break time, some salad later in the afternoon and a quorn fillet in tomato sauce for dinner. Hubby had cereal, a small sandwich and a boiled egg and salad. I didn’t seem to get too bad a headache on Tuesday and I was quite encouraged by the fact that at last I seemed to be losing a significant amount of weight (around 7lbs).

The second fast day went ok although I felt very tired. I am pretty sure that any minor ailments that occur on fast days are magnified. I will be interested to see how Hubby and I cope with fasting when the dreaded winter coughs and colds set in. Don’t know what medical advice would be on that, presumably using your common sense you would think that if you were really poorly you would not fast.

Talking of medical matters Hubby had his review at the docs as he has hypertension. The nurse advised him that it would be fine for him to continue on the 5:2 diet but did recommend that on fast days he eat food with as high nutrient content as possible and not just low calorie. In theory you could just eat a few chocolate bars or three packets of crisps to make up your 500/600 calories. Of course it seems obvious that that wouldn’t be good and I’m sure it wouldn’t give you much energy but I think the high nutrient idea is one I will keep firmly in the front of my mind when fasting. 

Juliet – Guest Blogger

4 responses »

  1. “The nurse advised him that it would be fine for him to continue on the 5:2 diet but did recommend that on fast days he eat food with as high nutrient content as possible and not just low calorie. In theory you could just eat a few chocolate bars or three packets of crisps to make up your 500/600 calories”

    A couple of things to bear in mind, nurses are trained to nurse, they shouldn’t be giving nutritional advice, they’re not qualified to do so. They certainly won’t have reviewed the studies on fasting. Secondly, in my *personal opinion*, I can’t see it being a problem what the nutritional content is on your fast days, as long as you eat a balanced diet the rest of the week. You can’t meet all your dietary needs in one meal, or even one day, in any case. But you can take that with a pinch of salt! 🙂

  2. Ok, I suppose I take on board some of what you are saying. I would say though that the nurse Hubby saw was quite knowledgeable about the 5:2 diet, had seen the programme and had had some enquiries from other patients. Also a nutritionist friend of mine said exactly the same thing about high nutrient content food on fast days. Mind you in the Horizon programme the ADF (Alternate Day Fast) dieters were eating anything on the non-fast day and we saw Michael Moseley go to a burger joint. The studies there showed it didn’t make any difference to the health benefits.

    • “Mind you in the Horizon programme the ADF (Alternate Day Fast) dieters were eating anything on the non-fast day and we saw Michael Moseley go to a burger joint. The studies there showed it didn’t make any difference to the health benefits.”

      Exactly. My philosophy is don’t make life harder than it needs to be…and the 5:2 diet is already quite demanding! Take care.

  3. Pingback: The 5:2 Diet: Juliet’s Journey – Long May It Continue « We Eat Things

Add Your Thoughts...

